Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
History Department
Sampson-Hall.

Faculty

Name Phone Email
McCarthy, Tom
Department Chair; Professor, 20th-century U.S.; Environmental; Psychology; Catholic Studies; Consumer/Business; New England
410-293-6253 mccarthy@usna.edu
Abels, Richard
Emeritus Professor
richard.abels54@gmail.com
Anderson, McKenzie
LT, USN; Instructor, U.S. Naval History
410-293-6293 mranders@usna.edu
Armstrong, Benjamin "BJ"
CDR, USN; Associate Department Chair; Associate Professor, Permanent Military Professor, U.S. Naval History
410-293-6258 barmstro@usna.edu
Artigiani, Robert
Emeritus Professor
robert.artigiani@gmail.com
Bailey, Roger
Adjunct Professor
410-293-6286 baileyr@usna.edu
Bellenoit, Hayden
Associate Professor, Modern South Asian History
410-293-6299 bellenoi@usna.edu
Berube, Claude
Director, U.S. Naval Academy Museum
410-293-5275 berube@usna.edu
Bogle, Lori
Professor, U.S. Social (Military, Diplomatic, Religious) History
410-293-6256 lbogle@usna.edu
Brennan, Thomas E.
Emeritus Professor
t.edw.brennan@gmail.com
Brewster, Ben
Maj, USMC; Instructor
410-293-6298 bbrewste@usna.edu
Burgess, Thomas
Associate Professor, East African History; Contemporary Africa
410-293-6275 gburgess@usna.edu
Capps, Alan
Adjunct Professor
410-293-6246 capps@usna.edu
Cofer, Thomas
Capt, USMC; Instructor
410-293-6294 cofer@usna.edu
Costello, Chris
LCDR, USN; Instructor
410-293-6265 ccostell@usna.edu
Cox, Andrew
LCDR, USN; Instructor, U.S. History; Post-Civil War United States
410-293-6291 acox@usna.edu
Crawford, Sharika
Professor, Modern Latin America, Circum-Caribbean, Afro-Latin America
410-293-6223 scrawfor@usna.edu
Culham, Phyllis
Emerita Professor
phyllisculham@gmail.com
Curry, Daniel
Adjunct Professor
410-293-6276 dcurry@usna.edu
DeCredico, Mary
Professor, History of the U.S. South, American Civil War
410-293-6252 decredic@usna.edu
Dziennik, Matthew
Associate Professor, History of Britain and the British Empire
410-293-6280 mdzienni@usna.edu
Ellenberger, Nancy W.
Emerita Professor
nancywellenberger@gmail.com
Felker, C.C.
Retired Professor
ccfelker@msn.com
Fisher, Stan
CDR, USN; Assistant Professor, Permanent Military Professor; U.S. Naval History
410-293-6273 sfisher@usna.edu
Fouse, William
Capt, USMC; Instructor, 20th Century U.S. History
410-293-6267 fouse@usna.edu
Freymann, John M.
CAPT, USN; Assistant Professor, Permanent Military Professor; History of Christianity
410-293-6298 freymann@usna.edu
Good, Jane
Emerita Professor, Director of Academic Counseling
jackandggrr@gmail.com
Harrod, Frederick S.
Emeritus Professor
Fharrod347@aol.com
Hemler, Chris
Capt, USMC; Instructor, U.S. Naval History
410-293-6295 hemler@usna.edu
Hobbs, Jeffrey
Assistant Professor, Late Modern European History
hobbs@usna.edu
Hsieh, Wayne
Associate Professor, 19th Century U.S. Military History; American Civil War
410-293-6292 hsieh@usna.edu
Jones, Marcus O.
Associate Professor, German History; Modern German Economic History
410-293-6272 mojones@usna.edu
Jouejati, Dr. Murhaf
Class of 1955 Distinguished Visiting Professor in Middle East and Global Studies
410-293-6271 jouejati@usna.edu
Lazic, Milorad
Adjunct Professor
410-293-6277 lazic@usna.edu
Lester, Molly
Assistant Professor, Medieval Europe
410-293-6262 mlester@usna.edu
Love Jr., Robert W.
Retired Professor
love@usna.edu
Lunsford, Virginia W.
Associate Professor, Maritime and European History; Golden Age of Piracy
410-293-6297 lunsford@usna.edu
Macris, Jeffrey
CAPT, USN (ret) , Deputy Director, Stockdale Center for Ethical Leadership; History of Modern Middle East, Persian Gulf, Islam
410-293-6045 macris@usna.edu
Masterson, Daniel
Emeritus Professor
masterdanster@gmail.com
McBride, William M.
Professor, History of Science and Technology; Naval History
410-293-6290 wmcbride@usna.edu
Mistretta, Matt
Capt, USMC; Instructor, U.S. Military History; U.S. Foreign Policy; Cold War
410-293-6246 mistrett@usna.edu
Misukanis, Nicholas
Adjunct Professor
410-293-6276 misukani@usna.edu
Moretz, Joseph
Adjunct Professor
410-293-6264 moretz@usna.edu
Morrissey, Colin
LCDR, USN, Permanent Military Instructor
410-293-6286 cmorriss@usna.edu
Pennington, Lee K.
Associate Professor, History of Japan; History of East Asia; Senior Academic Adviser for HHS and HHSH Majors
410-293-6279 penningt@usna.edu
Pitrof, Dr. Tyler A.
Class of 1957 Post-Doctoral Fellow in Naval History; Instructor, U.S. Naval History
410-293-6270 pitrof@usna.edu
Pulliam, Sara "Sam"
LCDR, USN, Permanent Military Instructor, Modern Middle East, Egypt, Interwar Persian Gulf
410-293-6254 pulliam@usna.edu
Qu, Bo
Capt, USMC; Instructor
410-293-6262 qu@usna.edu
Quartararo, Anne
Emerita Professor
quartara@verizon.net
Robertson, Thomas
CAPT, USN, Distinguished Military Professor for Character Education; Director of Forum on Emerging and Irregular Warfare Studies (FEIWS)
410-293-1928 robertso@usna.edu
Ruth, Richard A.
Professor, Thailand, Vietnam, Southeast Asia
410-293-6255 ruth@usna.edu
Sagstetter, Kelcy
Assistant Professor, Ancient Mediterranean
410-293-6259 sagstett@usna.edu
Sanders, Thomas J.
Professor, Russian and Soviet History; Modern Europe
410-293-6261 sanders@usna.edu
Spikes, Courtney
Adjunct Professor
410-293-6246 spikes@usna.edu
Symonds, Craig L.
Emeritus Professor
macsymonds@aol.com
Tucker, Ernest
Professor, History of the Middle East, Central Asia, Iran, Turkey
410-293-6281 tucker@usna.edu
VanDeMark, Brian
Professor, U.S. Diplomatic and International History
410-293-6282 vandemar@usna.edu
Viernes, Terence
LT, USN; Instructor, Modern U.S. History; Social Histories in the U.S. Navy
410-293-6260 viernes@usna.edu
Wallace, Donald
Associate Professor, Intellectual History of Europe
410-293-6289 dwallace@usna.edu
Werking, Richard
Emeritus Professor
richardwerking@gmail.com
Wheeler, Brannon M.
Professor, History of Religions, the Middle East and Asia
410-293-6289 bwheeler@usna.edu
Yu, Miles Maochun
Professor, East Asia, Strategy and Military History; Director, Center for Regional Studies
410-293-6283 yu@usna.edu
Zhu, Pingchao
Distinguished Visiting Professor
410-293-6292 pzhu@usna.edu
go to Top